top of page

Golden Retriever: The Perfect Dog

Updated: Oct 2, 2018

I have come up with 8 reason why I think Goldens are just the perfect pet!


Prior to getting my first Golden, I had never really been around the breed at all. I based my decision to breed Golden Retrievers off hours of research, finally deciding that the breed fit my personality and lifestyle perfectly.


I was totally right.


Goldens, I have come to realize, are so perfectly named; not only for the color of their coat, but also for their personality. They have a heart of gold, and only want to please you.


So, let's get into it then....


1. They LOVE their people

I mean the kind of love that is unconditional. The kind of love that means they would give their life for your in a second. Life is tough, and it's hard to find truly loyal friends, but I am telling you, a Golden will always be your friend. They don't care if you've lost your job, are having a bad day, anything.


Your are the reason they exist. Period.


They love to do whatever it is that you are doing. My Goldens love to swim, kayak, hike, play ball, cuddle on the couch, anything. As long as I am doing it too. It's like when you were in 3rd grade and you had that one best friend that you did everything with, and the reason it was so magical is because you did it together. That's life with a Golden.


Goldens are the definition of loyalty.


2. They are good with other people

My dogs have never ever met a stranger, and out of all the strangers they have met, I believe there wasn't one who didn't love them as well. They don't care what a person looks like, how old they are, if they smell like other dogs, they love them regardless.


Often they will run right up and greet them as if they are old friends.


3. They are incredibly intelligent

Apparently, Goldens are the 4th most intelligent dog in the world (but, biased me would disagree with that and rank them higher). It is so easy to train them. Training the puppies basic things only takes a few days sometimes.


Their eager-to-please attitude makes the process flow so nicely.


4. They are athletic

Goldens seem to be the perfect balance between being active and relaxed, depending on the situation. I had a Labrador Retriever a long time ago, and it seemed her energy level was always at dangerous levels and she never knew how to relax.


Goldens, however, are bred to be calm, yet active dogs.


My dogs love to play fetch and run around, and could probably do it all day if I kept throwing the ball! Yet when we stop, they have no problem calming down.


They have the perfect temperament, it seems.


5. They are great with kids

This is a question I get a LOT. "How are Golden Retrievers with kids?" This is a biggie, and an excellent question.


The answer is: Goldens are fantastic with kids!


Their laid back, loving personality make them wonderful family dogs. My first experience with a child around an adult Golden was my 3 year old cousin playing with my brother's boy (Benji) from my very first litter back in 2014. Benji was about one at the time, and hadn't really been around young children a whole lot since he was a puppy, so we weren't sure how he would react. The results were quite humorous. My little cousin loved grabbing his face and pulling on his ears, much to poor Benji's dismay. However, he took it patiently like a champ, and let him do whatever he wanted! Even when we had to step in and stop it, he let that kid do whatever he wanted......


6. They are the perfect size!

According to the AKC, females should weigh from 55 to 65 lbs. and males from 65 to 75 lbs. They aren't too big, but they aren't too small. Just perfect!


7. They don't bark

This doesn't mean they don't bark at all, just that they don't bark incessantly. If they see something fishy, they will let you know about it. But they won't bark at every little squirrel and mailman that they see, unlike some breeds.


8. They are gorgeous

The Golden Retriever coat is truly unique. They stand out in public and almost always someone will comment on how beautiful they are!


The only downside is they do shed. However, if you keep them regularly brushed and don't have more than two it isn't too big of a problem. I say this because we had all our Goldens in the house at one point (all ten of them) and it felt like we were drowning in Golden fluff.


But, like I said, if you manage the hair it isn't a problem. Besides, their lovely coats make up for it. ;)


I hope you enjoyed this post about why Golden's make the perfect dog! If you are considering getting a Golden, you really can't go wrong with the breed. If you are looking for a family dog that is athletic, intelligent, willing to please, easy to train, absolutely gorgeous, a medium size, loyal, and loving, a Golden Retriever is probably your dog.


Golden League

Raising Super Dogs for a Super Life


68 views0 comments
bottom of page